Seasonal greetings

I just read something that really made me sit up.  Mary Ellen Chase, the American 19th century writer, wrote: “Christmas is not a date. It is a state of mind.” Wow!I do not know about you, but in our hustle-bustle commercialized world it’s easy to forget that Christmas really marks the passing of the longest night of the year. And is the time when hope is reborn of brighter days laying ahead.

This brief Christmas period of candlelight and cheer is intrinsically about friendship, thoughtfulness and kindness, and hopes for peace, understanding and goodwill to everyone, of every race and religion.

I am not a practicing Christian, feeling more akin with Buddhist thinking. Yet I try not to forget that nightingales sang before Jesus or Buddha spoke, and hopefully, global warming notwithstanding, will continue long after their words have faded into oblivion.

I hope you have a beautiful Christmas. And that you find the messages it carries challenges you to think a little deeper about the issues affecting you and the world in the future.

On behalf of everyone at Wanobe, I’d like to wish you all the very best wishes for 2008. I hope it will be a new year of health, peace, inspiring thoughts and stimulating activities, at work, rest and play.

Let’s all carry with us into 2008 the words of French novelist Emile Zola: “If you ask me what I came into this life to do, I will tell you: I came to live out loud.”

Live long, live well, travel safe.

About Wanobe, the business knowledge network
Writer, journalist and broadcaster, sixty-something David likes nothing better than being with family and friends, eating out and drinking great wines, and scuba diving.

Leave a Reply

